Healing Arts Massage Therapy
734-207-0557    981 N. Mill St. Plymouth MI 48170 www.healingartsmassagetherapy.com

Black Friday Deals Start Early!

Healing Arts Massage Therapy - Plymouth Michigan Massage


Black Friday Deals Start Early!

Holiday Specials

Save $10 on all One Hour Massages,
Gift Certificates & Packages


Massage Licensure in Michigan is Now a Reality

For over 35 years massage professional organizations have been petitioning the State of Michigan to license the Massage Therapy profession, and finally it has become a reality. Former Governor Jennifer Granholm signed the bill that put the law into effect.

As of November 29th, 2014, all Massage Therapists practicing in Michigan are required to have a State License. Anyone practicing massage without a license will be practicing illegally and may be subject to disciplinary action.

Why is licensure and regulation so important?
In the words of the AMTA (American Massage Therapy Association):
“Massage therapy has a significant impact on a person’s health and well-being. The public has a right to expect that a massage therapist has the qualifications needed to practice effectively and safely. Legal recognition of the practice of massage therapy and clearly-stated requirements to practice are essential to promote the profession and protect the health, safety and welfare of the general public. State licensure creates standards of minimum competency. Competency is measured and enforced through formal education, training, and examination requirements. Professional licensure laws enhance public safety by enforcing disciplinary actions against non-compliant practitioners.

The requirements to obtain a license in Michigan as a massage therapist are as follows: You must have a high school diploma or equivalent, be 18 years of age or older and must be of good moral character as defined by law. As Massage Therapy is a health profession license, all applicants are required to undergo a criminal background check and submit fingerprints for a scan reviewed by the Michigan State Police and/or the Health Professions Division. They also must successfully pass an examination as designated by the Michigan Board of Massage Therapy. In addition, applicants must complete a supervised curriculum in a massage therapy school that has been approved by the Michigan Board of Massage Therapy of not less than 500 hours of classroom instruction.

At Healing Arts Massage Therapy Center, we are very happy and proud to announce that all Massage Therapists have obtained their licenses and are in compliance with the new state laws.


Meet Our Two New Massage Therapists

In an effort to provide more available appointments, two new therapists have joined our team – Laura Ortner and Madeline Worischeck. Both therapists are graduates from Irene’s School of Myomassology, and bring their skills with them.

Laura Ortner is a Licensed Massage Therapist who trained at Irene's School of Myomassology. She loves relaxing people with Swedish Massage and Foot Reflexology, and also blends in Deep Tissue, Craniosacral, and Reiki as needed for an excellent massage!

Madeline Worischeck is a Licensed Massage Therapist who trained at Irene's School of Myomassology. She has a gentle, nurturing touch for a deeply relaxing massage. She specializes in Swedish, and blends in Deep Tissue and Reiki as needed for that floating away feeling!


Happy Thanksgiving to you!

Remember an attitude of gratitude.

Check it out at BookNow
Make an Online Appointment.

Facebook

This newsletter is provided by www.healingartsmassagetherapy.com.